details

Thank you all so much for your support and well-wishes. It is amazing to get this amount of caring from virtual strangers; makes me think better about the world in general. Thank you.

It ended up not being an ectopic pregnancy, just a plain miscarriage. My RE was worried it was an ectopic because he saw what appeared to be 2 sacs outside of the uterus. He did the D&C and there was tissue, but he wanted to ensure that there was nothing in my tubes so he did a laparoscopy as well. He found lots of scar tissue (from my myomectomy in Dec.) so he cleared that out and found nothing in the tubes.

It is both better and worse news in my opinion. Better in that I thought I had 2 healthy, growing embryos that just landed in the wrong spot, which just felt terrible to me. I also was concerned because having a tubal pregnancy after IVF is so uncommon. What if it happened again? Worse in that now I have concerns about my other embryos in light of one or both of these “excellent, 8-celled embryos” having issues. I’m trying to stay positive as my RE said he doesn’t see any reason we won’t have a normal pregnancy next time. I have 8 more excellent embryos and I’m healthy.

Now I just try to move forward. I have an appointment in a week to have a blood draw to see where my numbers are. RE seems to think we can start an FET cycle in about two weeks. As painful as things are now, I do think I want to just go to the next try as quickly as possible.

5 Comments

Filed under D and C, laparoscopy, miscarriage

5 responses to “details

  1. >oh hon, i am so sorry. my RE swore up and down and sideways that one m/c doesn’t predict anything about a future pregnancy. he said the same thing about being able to have a subsequent, normal pregnancy. lets hope both docs are right.i felt the same way about starting again asap. i think it really helps to be moving forward, rather than dwelling in the sadness.sending you big ((hugs)). hope you can have a calm weekend, with lots of pampering from your sweetie!

  2. >I’ve been thinking about you all day! My RE said the exact same thing as yours, and I completely understand the emotions of wanting to get started again as soon as possible.I’m hoping that you heal well as you move toward your next cycle, and that it IS the cycle that works for you.

  3. >oh -Glamcookie I am so sorry that you have to go through this. I just wrote on BBC too -but ignore what I said about taking time – I think whatever keeps the process moving seems right to you and that’s what you should do.According to statistics the odds are very good to get pregnant and go full term with IVF, but often it takes more than one time. I don’t know if that helps or makes it worse. I know not much can really help at the moment – but I am thinking of you and hoping that good things will come to you soon in the next try.FX for a quick turn around for those wonderful remaining embies.take care:)TG:)

  4. KM

    >(((((hugs))))) I am so sorry that you are going through this. I hope you have a quiet and relaxing weekend. My thoughts are with you and I am hoping for nothing but the best for you and your remaining snow babies.

  5. >You are very courageous. I’m a believer in the eight snowballs you have in the freezer. I am picturing them right now and they look fabulous. I also believe in doing whatever feels right. Sometimes a break is good and sometimes it is better to plow ahead.

Leave a Reply

