boobs

That title grab you? I know it would grab me! Being the (ahem) 40-something lady that I am, I had to go in for a mammogram last Friday (ugh). Y’all may recall that back in 2012 there was a mammo emergency as I needed to have one (was 42) but I hadn’t been done bfing for long enough. Ended up doing an ultrasound one and all was fine. Then I had the MM and there has been no mammo since as I was bfing for a lot of that time.

Fast forward to my last physical and my doctor telling me to do the thing. The tech that did the mammo said that since this is my first actual one, there is no baseline for me and not to be worried if they call me in for a follow-up. So, yesterday I found out there is some calcification in the right breast and I have to come in for an ultrasound to ensure that it is benign. I am trying to think, “No big,” but I’m a bit… unnerved. The earliest they could get me in is Mon 3/13, so yay for having 1.5 weeks to think about it, am I right!

I’m sure I’m probably fine, though we’ve had one incident of breast cancer in the family (a paternal aunt, who is now cancer free and has been for many years). But y’all know how it is – jump to the worst conclusion girl is here! So, send me some health ~ma and some it’s-nothing ~ma if you don’t mind. Much appreciated.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “boobs

  1. I’m sorry! That’s scary! I’m in the same boat. Haven’t had a mammo since before we did the FET for Harry and that was in 2013. I’m still BFing because i am too lazy to stop. I keep saying once he’s potty trained I’ll do it.
    Sending you lots of good zen ju ju for the test and hoping the wait isn’t too agonizing.
    Big hugs, mama!

  2. This is a far cry from the fun post I was expecting with that title.
    If it were me, I’m sure I’d be anxious. I’m removed enough to say, “Don’t worry!” and “I’m sure everything is fine.” and really mean it. But still, please do keep us updated.

Leave a Reply

