no more nurslings

DW and I took the opportunity of my 3 day trip to Los Angeles last week to wean the Marshmallow. I have tried twice in the last 3 months to night wean to no avail. My hard-headed babe would go 10-12 nights with very little sleep, and very much wailing. I literally dropped with exhaustion at a certain point and gave in both times.

Since I was to be gone for 3 nights and 4 days, we thought this was a good time to just try going cold turkey. Here’s how it’s going:

  • Night 1: The MM was up from 12:30-4:30AM. Let’s all give it up for Mommy (DW) who had to deal with that mess. He was not crying or unhappy during that time, just awake. Fortunately my mom was on hand to help, so DW did get some nap time the next day.
  • Night 2: The MM was up for the day at 3:30AM. Poor, poor Mommy.
  • Night 3: The MM was up for the day at 5:30AM. A little progress…
  • Night 4: Mama was home! The MM was asking for milk! I very nearly gave in as I just ached for him, even though the crying was not inconsolable. I was able to get him to sleep with no nursing. He woke up several times wanting to nurse, but I was able to get him back down with very few tears. He was up from 3:30-4:30AM, woke for the day at 6:30.
  • Night 5: Baby slept through the night until 6:30AM! He stirred several times overnight but never woke up. YES!
  • Night 6: Baby woke up several times through the night, but I was able to get him back to sleep quickly with some butt patting and shushing.

Pretty good, right? He does ask for milk a couple of times each day, but accepts it when I tell him, “I’m sorry, there’s no more milk. Would you like water, juice, etc? Would you like a hug?”

It is both great and sad. The thought that I’ll never nurse my babies again does have my heart breaking a bit. I wish I could have one more nursing-to-sleep session, but I also know it’s time to be done. I was really resenting having to nurse so often, and not getting restful sleep as the MM woke several times overnight to nurse. I also feel kind of guilty not waiting for him to end things – even after 2 years and 8 months of bfing. That mom guilt is strong and merciless!

I nursed my babies for a total of 4 years and 11 months. Neither had a drop of formula and were EBF for their first 6 months of life. I pumped for a total of 1.5 years while working full-time. My initial goal was to reach a year with each baby, so I kind of killed that one! I am so proud and so thankful that I was able to experience nursing my children. It was a transformative experience for me, something I’ll treasure always.

Goodbye, my sweet babies. Hello, my beautiful children.

4 Comments

Filed under breastfeeding, nursing, sleep, Uncategorized

4 responses to “no more nurslings

  1. I know it does not alleviate the Mama guilt (all moms endure Mama guilt at one time or another if they are doing it right) but you did a MAGNIFICENT job breastfeeding them both! You have two healthy, happy, and adorable kiddos, well done Mama and now go rest easy and treat DW to some serious loving or liquor or night out or all the above 😉

  2. So bittersweet! I get emotional whenever this topic comes up. I think our time is coming soon too. Anyway, well done nursing both your boys. Even if there aren’t “difficulties” it demands a lot of a person and it’s impressive that you were able to continue for so long. And now you can enjoy having your boobs back to yourself (and DW 😉 )!

  3. Irish Stout & Mommies

    I understand the mom guilt but damn lady….you are impressive! You should be so proud of the gift that you have given your boys for a major foundation of support, nutrition and love!

Leave a Reply

