we made it!

I am posting from our temporary digs in NC, y’all! The move was both nuts and smooth. Here’s the low down.

Thursday Jan 22

Poor DW was sick as a dog. She worked at Monkey’s school every Thursday, and she didn’t want to miss his last day at the co-op, so she and Monkey headed out at 8:30 AM. Our sitter arrived for the last time at 9 AM to take the MM out of the house for the morning. They spent it at our local park, where the MM had a blast.

The movers arrived at 9:30AM to pack up our condo. Seven guys strolled in and they started working in every room immediately! I’d planned to work at the dining room table for a bit, but that was impossible. Fortunately our building has a big rec room right near our unit, so I camped out there and checked in with the guys every now and then. Neighbors dropped in to offer drinks, wifi access, store runs, etc. (If you knew our history with some of these neighbors, you’d be shocked by this. Once we had Monkey, our neighbors became buddies – who knew?)

At 12:15 PM, the MM arrived home, and at 12:40, Monkey and DW arrived home. DW was teary behind her sunglasses as they had hugs and tearful goodbyes from kids and parents at school. I ran to get lunch for the movers (In.N.Out one final time – this no red meat eater broke down and had a cheeseburger). DW, Monkey, and the MM went driving around until the MM went to sleep and DW and Monkey hit the Wendy’s drive-thru for lunch in the car. DW and kids returned around 3 and we hung out in the rec room until the movers were done (4:30! so quick), we took care of a few things at the condo and then we checked into our hotel room a few miles away.

moving-boxes

Friday Jan 23

We had a nice complimentary breakfast at the hotel (waffles!) and DW dropped me off at the condo and took the kids to the mall to hang for the morning. I tried to corral our 3 cats, but I couldn’t find them among all of the boxes! The movers arrived at 9:30 AM, I informed them that the cats were loose in the condo and that I’d get them all into a bathroom when I found them. I hung out near the front door of our unit to watch for any cats trying to escape, and spent the morning looking for cats periodically and freaking out because I couldn’t find them and the door was open the entire time as stuff was being hauled away! Finally one of the movers said he saw two cats run into the master bedroom, so I went in looking and found momo and Casper under the armoire. They were so terrified I got them easily and put them into the master bathroom. Whew! After several more strolls through the ever-emptying condo, I finally found Bianca under the master bathroom sink! I put her into the closed portion of the bathroom with the other two cats and finally breathed a sigh of relief. I’m sure the movers did, too, as I had to be bugging the crap out of them, rushing in every 15 or so minutes to do a cat hunt!

At 10:30, I got the call that the car carrier was ready to meet me down the street in a large lot to take both of our cars. I drove DW’s car to meet the driver and signed a ton of paperwork. Then I booked to the mall (next door to lot) and got the other car and drove it over.

cars

Went back to the mall to meet DW, boys, and a friend who wanted to say goodbye before we left. Hung out for a bit and then DW, boys, and I walked back to the condo where the movers were still in full-force. Around 12:30, we ordered pizza for the movers and us and hung out until we finished lunch.  DW’s mom met us and drove us over to the hotel, where they all stayed while I went back in MiL’s car to supervise movers.

The painter was meeting me at the condo at 4 to price the job, but the movers needed to clear out our storage space down the street. I met the painter and asked if he could hang out for 10 minutes while I got the movers set up at the storage space. I came back and took the painter through the condo (with his 2 small kids – haha). Then I drover back over to the storage space. The movers were just finishing up, so I got copies of all the paperwork and then turned in our key at the office of the storage space and drove back to the condo.

moving-truck

I finished emptying the fridge, did a quick sweep for cat hair (SO MUCH CAT HAIR!!!!) as I didn’t want my poor cleaning person having to deal with nasty cat hair), fed and watered poor kitties, and other misc stuff that I knew we wouldn’t have time for the next morning before going to the airport.

It was surreal to see our place empty. We lived in our condo for almost 12 years. Brought our babies home from the hospital here. All three of our cats have never lived anywhere else. Kind of sad to leave, but our friend will be renting it so it’s technically still our place.

empty-room

I headed back to the hotel around 5:30, and DW ran out to pick up sandwiches for dinner. MiL stayed for dinner and then had a mildly teary goodbye when she left for home around 7:30. DW is headed back to SoCal in early Feb to be there for MiL’s surgery so I imagine the waterworks will really turn on when she leaves after that trip.

Saturday Jan 24

We got up around 6:45 and got ready and had a co-op mom friend meet us at the hotel to drive us over to the condo. It worked out well because she has two kids still in carseats so we didn’t have to worry about that. She hung out with us while I gave the cats their tranquilizers and got them into their kennels for the flight. That all went off without a hitch. When it was time for her to go, she and DW had a teary farewell. An SUV arrived at 9 to take us and all of our stuff to LAX. I paid a bit extra to have him park and help us haul all of our crap into the airport, thankfully. We were sent to special handling to check in since we had the cats and that was actually great as there was no line there (the regular check in line was pretty crazy). We checked our bags and DW and Monkey went with the TSA guys to look at the kennels to make sure they were okay to fly. Then we headed to our gate and hung out until we boarded our 11:50 AM flight to NC.

Funny bit: We could see the guys loading the baggage onto the plane from our seat. We watched them take the cat carriers off the tram and sit them on the tarmac and could kind of see the kitties inside them! They loaded them on after all of the luggage was on and it looked like they were being pretty careful. Funny to see them!

cats2

 

 

 

cats3

The MM slept for about an hour and a half and all was going pretty well. Then we hit some INSANE turbulence. A flight attendant fell, they had to interrupt drink service, etc. It went on for about an hour – ugh. Then about 1.5 hours before landing, Monkey threw up all over himself and on DW. Multiple times. We had packed an extra shirt for each kid, but not bottoms (you’d think we’d know better). We got him changed into the fresh shirt but the pants were just too nasty to wear. We ended up taking them off and covering his legs with an airplane blanket. When the plane landed, he threw up several more times (this time into an air sickness bag). Poor guy. We caried him off the plane wrapped in the blanket and put him into the MM’s stroller. Granny and Papa were waiting and had brought two vehicles to transport our stuff.

We picked up our luggage and the cats and headed to the temporary digs. The condo is super nice and very similar to the one we just left. The boys and cats have settled in nicely. The MM and I are now sick with the cold DW is still trying to shake, but I’m thankful that I was healthy during the move to do the heavy lifting.

Our only real problem during the move was poor Monkey’s airsickness. The actual move went off without a hitch. Of course, there’s still the other side of the move so we’ll see how that goes before calling it a win 🙂 (Knocks on wood.) Our cars should be delivered in the next couple of days.

We have already started house hunting! I’ll do a separate post on that, but both DW and I have looked at each other during our hunt and said, “Our boys are going to be SO happy here.” Seriously.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “we made it!

  1. As someone who is desperate to trade crazy city apartment life firaskoweroace and a HOUSE I can totally relate to your last sentences!! So stoked for you!!!
    Please share your house search fully!!!! I need to. Live vicariously! Just curious about the division of labor during the move. Is that always the way you do things? You schlep and DW watches the kids in these situations? Just wondering. I do both but if there’s physical labor I generally do more running around. Good luck!!! So excited for you.
    Poor poor Monkey, though and poor DW!!! Dramamine next time?

    • Usually it is DW who does the heavy lifting and I’m on kid patrol, but she was super sick so I stepped up. And I did just fine 🙂

      I’ll do a detailed house hunt post soon. Woot!

  2. Sounds amazing!
    Yay for East Coast(ish) living!

  3. sj

    Sounds exhausting! I hope you find a wonderful house quickly!

  4. Amy

    I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Perfectly written!

Leave a Reply

