the new job

Hello, bloggy friends! It’s been so long since I updated. Life is just so hectic lately. All good things, but still stressful.

I started my new job last Monday! It began with a trip to NC for a 2 day new hire orientation. You may remember that I was on the fence about leaving the MM for the trip? Well, I decided to take him! I had a ton of stress around the idea of leaving him, but very little with regard to taking him so off he went. He is a great little traveler! My mom came up to stay with us and care for the MM while I was working. It went really well! They had fun connecting, the MM was super good with her, and he had Mama for overnights and evenings. Whew!

As for the new job, I’m really REALLY happy so far. My new workplace will be fantastic! Orientation was in the building I’ll be working in and I was super impressed with it. New, fancy, fun, just a cool place to be. I love the culture there and so far I’m feeling very competent in my ability to do a great job. I’ll also have enough to learn that it’ll have some challenges, so it’s great.

New workplace

work

I left NC feeling like we made a great decision. I think our family will be very happy in the Raleigh area. It’s very much an up-and-coming place, so there are good restaurants, cool things to do, a variety of people. That said, it’s nothing like LA – and I mean that in a good way. No crazy traffic, downtown was easy to navigate and never overly congested. I can’t wait to find our new house and get settled.

Move-wise, so far we’ve:

  • Got a realtor
  • Got a place lined up in NC to rent short-term (2 miles from work!)
  • Found movers and locked in the dates (Jan 23-24, in case you’re interested)
  • Lined up a place to ship our vehicles for a reasonable rate
  • Possibly have a tenant to move into our LA condo (a friend!)
  • Started purging items that we don’t want to move

We still need to:

  • Continue purging
  • Figure out what we need to bring with us to the rental and how we’ll get it out there
  • Book our flight out
  • Figure out what we need to do to bring the cats (thinking we’ll have to have them in cargo as you can’t have 3 animals with you on the plane)

All in all, I think we have it well in hand. Now to kick back for a week and enjoy the holidays! Wishing all of you a happy season!

9 Comments

Filed under move, work

9 responses to “the new job

  1. Good luck with the move. My wife and I had our cats with us on the plane, but there were only two of them. It was a huge hassle getting through security. Even if they allowed it, I would say you’d be in for a lot with two little ones and three cats.

  2. Glad to hear things are going so well so far! Good luck with the move and enjoy the holidays!

  3. BEst of luck with the move, and check out that office!!! Jealous!

  4. Congrats on all the great things, the new city and the new job! That office looks pretty sweet! And here I just got a new job in Century city from currently working in Pasadena. I’ll be smack in the worst traffic. You’re new city does sound pretty nice. Enjoy!

  5. Yay an update!!!! All exciting things! I have a good friend that lives in Raleigh and she loves it. She asserts that it is very up and coming πŸ™‚

    How wonderful for your mom and MM to get to spend some quality time together! Seems like you have a great list going, I understand the worry about the cats, but your vet can help with a mild tranquilizer. Pets ship across the country all the time really. They will be fine!

    That workplace looks AH-MAZING!!!! So happy for you all!

  6. Irish Stout & Mommies

    So much wonderful news and updates! I think you are doing a fantastic job balancing work and family. Will you be working in the office FT now, or splitting between home & office? Will L still be a SAHM? Exciting, exciting!

  7. I’m so happy for you!! This is very exciting.

  8. There’s a whole lot of wonderful going on in your life right now! How awesome! Your new workspace looks pretty great too. πŸ™‚

  9. This sounds like an amazing life changing opportunity! You hip gen xer! You’ll be able to meet An offering of love one day too!

Leave a Reply

