job update

I got the call today – they are flying me up to Seattle for an interview a week from Monday. EEEEKKK!!!! Exciting and not a little terrifying. DW and the Marshmallow will join me and Monkey will stay at Grandma’s house for the night we’ll be gone. MM is still not on the bottle and I just can’t do an overnight without him at this point. It would be too hard on both of us. Tonight we have to tell Grandma all of this and she is not going to be happy. Wish us luck. I also have a question for you Mamas. I will need to pump at some point during my interview day as it is a full day of interviews. Should I:

  • Tell the recruiter to schedule some time in for pumping (two 15 minute breaks)
  • Bring my manual pump and just do quick pump and dumps to relieve my full breasts during bathroom breaks

I’m tempted to do the first as it would tell me something about the company to see how they react to this. Also they came to me – it’s not like I went to them and am trying to keep stuff under wraps to get hired, you know? That said, I do want this job! Would it be shady not to let them know until I show up for work? I don’t know!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “job update

  1. Congratulations on the interview! Things are so different there than they are here so I don’t feel qualified to give advice on the pumping front. Hope all goes well though!

  2. Congrats!!!! SO EXCITING!!! As the non-milk making Mom, I can offer no personal advice here, but DW encountered pretty much the same situation when Little Monster was 3 months old and she was interviewing for upper management that she/we really wanted to work out. It was an in house process and they already knew she had a 3 month old and was breastfeeding, but she chose to manual pump while on bathroom breaks and lunch. Her reasoning was that she wanted to show them that she could make motherhood/career work on her own. She is just like that though. Of course while actually on the job, she took full advantage of the pumping breaks and this was just a one day thing. If you want to use it as a “test” for the new company, by all means throw it out there. If it is not that big of a deal and you are confident in them encouraging/accomodating your pumping once hired then I would say pump and dump and rock out that interview in between 🙂

  3. I would ask for the breaks. If they’re not willing to accommodate you, then you know it may not be a good fit.

  4. yay, congrats!! what a very exciting possibility for your family!!!

    re: pumping – I think it sounds really stressful to have to quickly manually pump during bathroom breaks. I know I wouldn’t be able to let-down efficiently in that circumstance, and I feel like i’d have to explain why I spent 20 minutes in the bathroom in any event. I think I would mention it to whoever your main contact is, and ask for 30 minutes of time around lunch to pump once. good luck!

  5. Do the first. Be upfront ahead if time if it makes you feel better. Even high flyers have to breast feed!!! You are no less of a catch because you have a young baby that needs you!!! Don’t be shy about it. Just act like its normal. Which it is.
    Also did you see that Seattle is now the best or biggest or most popular place or sthg for gay families now???!!
    Wishing you so much luck in this scary but exciting adventure!!!
    And good luck telling grandma. Is this DW’s mom? I think it is.

  6. Congrats! So exciting! As for pumping, I would definitely ask for breaks. Not only will it give you valuable info about how family-friendly the company is, but I think quick pumping while “peeing” will be overly stressful – not want you want while interviewing! Whichever you choose – good luck!!

  7. chunkandmommy

    I also think you should be upfront and it will tell you a bit about the company dynamics. If you schedule pumping, it will make you more relaxed in the long-run and if you are offered the position, you would need pumping breaks anyway. As someone who worked full-time and pumped for a year, it is what it is (sometimes annoying and inconvenient) and they need to be somewhat accommodating, even for an interview.

Leave a Reply

