38w4d: almost there

I had my last OB appointment yesterday. DW and Monkey came with me as DW has only met my OB at our first appointment and Monkey has never met her, so we thought it might be nice since the birth is coming right up (scheduled c-section for Monday, April 29). Interestingly, at my last two appointments, my OB has seemed to be telling me that we don’t really have to wait for the 29th, and seemed to be implying she’d rather go ahead and deliver him over the weekend. DW confirmed this after yesterday’s appointment (she got the exact same impression). So we are considering heading in on Sunday instead of Monday. Reasons?

  • We have to be at the hospital on Monday at 5:30AM for a 7:30AM birth. Ugh!
  • I am supremely uncomfortable and just ready to go. I’d never go early simply for my own discomfort, but one day early? When we know this baby is full-term? Seems kinda like a no-brainer to me.

OB said that we originally just had to pick a date sometime after 39 weeks and it seems like you can’t scheduled for a weekend, so here we are. It feels kind of weird to go in and make up some excuse like “decreased fetal movement” or contractions or whatever, but this is what the OB seemed to want and it would definitely be better for us. She even made the comment that she loves delivering over the weekend (probably because it doesn’t mess with her office hours). If we decide to go for it, we figure we’ll arrive at the hospital around 9AM Sunday (isn’t that so much better than 5:30AM???). What do you guys think? Have any of you experienced this?

I am typically a Type A, scheduled, rule-following type of person so in that respect it feels strange. But man would it be nice to do it on a time frame that is nicer for us. My mom gets in on Friday, so anytime after that is fine where Monkey’s care is concerned. Today we lined up a tentative Sunday AM playdate for Monkey with a school friend (we’re close with the family and told them our possible plan) so that we have somewhere to drop him if we decided to go for it.

OMG IT’S ALMOST HERE!!!!!!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “38w4d: almost there

  1. Caroline

    Wow – it’s happening SO soon!
    We’re in a similar position. We have a 3 year old DD and I’ll be 38 weeks tomorrow. We’re scheduled for a C-section next Wednesday. We were told we would either have to be at the hospital at 6am for an 8am delivery, or 10am for a 12pm delivery. We are hoping it will be at 10am start, which just makes the day easier for everyone (especially organising the toddler!)

    I’m so glad we have a “date” for the delivery. It makes it much easier to plan everything even though some things can’t really be planned and I’ll have to go with the flow a bit.

    Good luck to you – it’s such a surreal feeling isn’t it? They’ll be here very very soon.

  2. Wow! In less than a week you will have a baby!! Hope all goes well and I can’t wait to “meet” him!

  3. It’s almost here!!!

    I’m partial to Sunday for several reasons: 1) You seem to like the idea of Sunday better. 2) It’s my anniversary so it’s inherently a good day 😉 and 3) 04-28-13… (0+4 = 4, 2 into 8 = 4, 1+3 + 4).
    No matter what you decide, you are 4-5 days out from meeting your new, sweet baby.

    So very excited for you!

  4. Yay- so soon! Look forward to the news of his arrival. Wishing you a speedy recovery!

  5. That is great news. I would go in on Sunday just because it would work out better time wise. One day wont make a difference a this point so why not make it easier on yourselves. 🙂 Congrats!!

  6. It’s so close to being here! I can’t wait to see the pictures of this sweet little one! I say do what is best for you. If it’s easier for everyone, just have that baby when she is suggesting. I say go for it!

  7. Reading this makes me feel a little anxious.

Leave a Reply

