24w4d: updates

I realized I haven’t done a proper post with words and stuff since my post on depression many moons ago. So here we go!

Depression

I’m actually feeling much better lately. I’m thinking that being sick (twice, for over a month!) really affected my emotional state. The colds are gone and I’ve also added a bit of coffee back into my morning routine and both are helping me immensely. I went off the coffee when we were TTC and stayed off until my second trimester. Having a cup (or two) in the morning helps me have a more productive start to my day and not feel like a total sloth. My OB is fine with it and I really limit my caffeine intake throughout the rest of the day, so it’s good. I still have the number of someone should I find myself ย in need, but for now I’m doing well and am going to try to make it through to the birth before restarting my ADs. Thanks to all of you who chimed in with your stories and support. Such a great community!

Pregnancy

I’m more than halfway through and am feeling really HUGE! I feel the baby move a lot, which is very different from my last pregnancy. My placenta was in front of the baby last time, so I didn’t feel movement for a long time and when I finally did, I didn’t feel much of it. This time? I started really feeling him at about 22 weeks and it just gets stronger and stronger. I’m able to see my belly move and DW has felt him kick as well. Fun!

We also have a birthdate: the newbie will make his appearance on Monday, April 29th! I’ll find out the exact time at my next OB appointment, but we went ahead and selected a date at my last one. It’s so funny that when I think of this new guy, I just see Monkey as an infant. I also think about how we’ll have the Christmas tree and decor up – until I remember that this guy will be born in April, not in December. My brain just refuses to switch to this new timeframe. New baby = Christmas, colder weather, turkey dinner. Only not so much this time around ๐Ÿ™‚ Funny, huh?

We have also gone through all of our baby stuff and realized that while we are pretty set on a lot of baby clothes, we will need to buy some new things as the seasons will be different for this guy. For example, all of our newborn stuff is for wintertime. Some of it will be fine (onesies, footed sleepers, etc.), but we will need some warm weather things as well. I’ve already done two big Gym.bor.ee purchases since they are having such HUGE sales right now. My local store had a ton of summer stuff for infants (I assume from last year) for $3.50-$4.00 a pop, so I got some super adorable things for dirt cheap.

Friends of ours have a baby boy who just turned a year old and they have generously offered us many of their baby items, which is awesome as we had to get rid of large items from Monkey because 1.) we had no room for them and 2.) most of what we had last time was 2nd/3rd hand and was really done after Monkey. So we’ll be getting a swing, bouncy seat, infant car seat, and other necessities from them. SO glad! I hate to buy new stuff that you’ll only use for a few months and then dump, so this is really great.

One big item we will need is a glider/rocker. I had one from a co-worker last time and we donated it when we were done as we didn’t really like the looks of it. Now, though, I kind of wish we’d held onto it as I don’t want to spend the money on it. I’m not a fan of the glider (just think they’re kind of ugly), so it’s not something I want in my house once we’re past the need for it. Maybe we can find a nice upholstered rocker that will fit with our furniture and we can hold onto for a while. I don’t know. Did anyone get something they loved for not too much money?

Monkey

This guy is getting to be such a big boy! He has really been talking much more and we feel like we don’t really need to have him evaluated anymore. His preschool teacher has also been telling us how quickly his speech has amped up in the last month or two. It’s kind of wild!

He had his 3 year checkup in early Jan, where he weighed 34 lbs (we think he lost a little weight due to his cold) and he measured 38 1/4″ tall. Everything checked out perfectly, but his doctor did lecture us a bit about potty training. Sigh. We are still trying on that front. He is so stubborn!

We are still co-sleeping, but it is getting harder as my belly gets bigger. We will be purchasing a king-sized bed in the next few weeks, so we’re hopeful that will help. We’re also considering setting up his crib as a toddler bed and seeing if we can’t coax him into sleeping there (still in our room). We’ll see… He is still an early riser (typically up around 5:30), but for the last few days he’s been sleeping until 6-6:30. We are SO hopeful this will become the new trend. Anything after 6 is totally acceptable.

Monkey doesn’t seem to really have much of a clue that a new baby is on the way. We talk to him about it and show him my belly. He will tell you baby brother’s name and hug and kiss my belly, but I don’t get the sense that he understands there’s a little person in there who will be coming out here and turning his little world upside down. I guess none of us every truly get that concept until it’s our reality ๐Ÿ™‚

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “24w4d: updates

  1. How are you almost 25 weeks already?!?!
    Loved this update – I’m so excited for your family as you prepare for #2.

  2. Yay for 25 weeks!!!! Can you believe we are going to have newborns in the next 4 months?!?!?!!?
    We are having the same seasonal/new baby mental association over here as well, lol. I keep thinking we need to find some newborn winter stuff for Boo and then remember Boo will spend her first 3 months in summer! I think it is going to be nice having a mid-winter baby and a late spring baby though, nice to mix things up ๐Ÿ™‚
    Re:Crib to toddler bed conversion, I have to say Little Monster has been sleeping longer since the move to toddler bed in his new big boy room. Of course only a week in and anything can change, but for now, we are pleased. Good luck!!!

  3. So glad that you are feeling better! I was concerned about you for a few minute. ๐Ÿ™‚ I am glad that everything is falling into place for you guys and I can’t wait to follow the second half of your pregnancy for the newbie’s arrival!

  4. So glad things are going well. I am just getting ready to stop taking my prozak as I will start my TTC in the next couple months.. Congrats and really enjoy your posts!

  5. So glad to hear that you are feeling better- I was hoping that would be the case. Thank goodness for coffeee too – especially when you have an early riser! Very exciting to have the birthdate selected. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Gosh! I can’t remember if I knew about this news or not. If I’m repeating myself, ignore me. Congrats!!!

Leave a Reply

