single frozen embryo transfer (sFET)

Thanks for all of your words of encouragement and support, friends šŸ™‚ It means a lot!

Someone asked how many embryos we are going to transfer and I thought I’d do a quick post on it. We are doing a single frozen embryo transfer (sFET). We just don’t feel prepared to take on twins in addition to Monkey and I admit that I’m scared of a twin pregnancy, so we’d like to reduce the odds of twins as much as possible. Hats off to you Mamas of twins – I don’t know how you do it and I’m amazed at your mothering abilities! DW has remained adamant about it and I’m totally on board as well. I had a few moments of doubt when I thought about the fact that I got pregnant with Monkey after an FET in which we transferred two embryos, and the fact that I got pregnant with our one fresh IVF cycle in which two embryos were transferred (I miscarried too early to know if one or both “stuck”). However, after doing a bit of research, I’ve found that the odds of success are only increased by about 10% with that extra embryo. I also know that my RE has selected one strong embryo and one less strong embryo for my previous transfers so the odds are decent that in both cases, only the stronger embryo implanted.

I remember a conversation with DW in which I said, “But it’s so expensive! What if we have to do multiple cycles to get PG?” She correctly told me that any money we put out for multiple cycles will be far far less than the money we’d put out if we had two children instead of one. So, that’s where we are. So far my RE is acting fine with it, but I’m prepared for him to try to get us to transfer more come May 10. After all, he tried to get us to transfer 4 (!!!) at our last FET. Um, no. I think I’ve got a decent track record to show I can indeed get pregnant, and we are working with embryos created from my 38-year-old eggs (not my current 41-year-old eggs, though who knows, they may be just fine). I’m choosing to believe we have a good chance of success.

I’d love to hear from anyone out there reading who has done an sFET, whether it was successful or not. I’m so curious to know how many choose this option and what their reasoning is. And if you’re curious about sFETs, there is an abundance of information out there – just Google “single frozen embryo transfer” and you’ll find lots of articles and forum discussions.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “single frozen embryo transfer (sFET)

  1. Happy to hear the good news on your last post. Best of luck to you and the little embryo that could! šŸ™‚

  2. i think a sFET makes a tremendous amount of sense. i’m excited it’s so soon, i’ve got everything crossed for you!

  3. Next in line

    I am so happy for you that you didn’t held up by the mammogram. Phew. Now full steam ahead to get that little frozen one in and growing.

  4. Thrilled for you! And I might be biased, given my current discomfort, but I think you’re making the right choice doing a single embryo transfer! Can’t wait to hear all about it šŸ™‚

  5. no experience, but right there with you. i feel kinda lucky that bunny ate his twin. (my crass way of saying we got one baby from two embryos.) we’re nowhere close to thinking about #2 yet, but we’ve already decided on single embryo FET.

    i do know from the blogs from australia and new zealand i read that single transfers are standard practice there. don’t read any european blogs for some reason, but would guess it’s the same there. this more-is-better fixation is an american thing.

  6. Jdz

    I think you are making the right choice for your family. I don’t want twins either. Mostly because we absolutely only want 2 children, total.
    I’m in full agreement with your DW. Even if you have to do more than one cycle (FX you don’t) it will be cheaper in the long run!! More than 2 kids and the cost of everything really starts to snowball… For us, we can’t afford villas at WDW so we need to be a family of 4! lol (j/k.. sort of)…
    Joking aside there are also the risks that have never been more real than in the past year.

Leave a Reply

