decision made

I should totally be sleeping right now, but I’m way too keyed up because… we decided today that we will be trying for baby #2! OMG.  We talked and decided we had a few things going for us:

  • Monkey is weaned and sleep is much better these days (though he’s still an early riser – 5-5:30AM).
  • Monkey is starting preschool in September, so we’ll have Mon-Fri mornings of Monkey-free, baby-only time.
  • Monkey should be potty trained before then, so we’ll have only one in diapers.
  • I work from home pretty much full-time, so when I “go back to work,” I’ll still be around to nurse and help out a bit.

We both think we’d regret it down the line if we didn’t have another (or try to have another – who knows how things will go). I feel like you never feel 100% ready to have a kid, you know? It’s hard when you have to plan everything out so meticulously not to get caught up in the details and the what-ifs. We’re just gonna jump in! So I am going to take the Lipitor for the next 6 weeks and have my cholesterol checked again at that point (May 3). If it is still high and I need to continue on medication, then I will switch to the safe for PG and nursing med. We are planning to do an FET in May or June.

Things I need to do to prep:

  • Call regular doctor and see if I can go ahead and start with FET meds at the tail end of taking, or immediately after stopping, the Lipitor.
  • Call RE and give him a heads-up that we’ll want to get this rolling when I get my next period, if doctor gives the okay.
  • Discuss billing with RE’s office as they billed my insurance an INSANE amount of money when we did a bit of testing with him in December. Here’s hoping we don’t have to find another RE if we don’t like what we hear…

Shit just got real, y’all! I am excited and terrified. I guess that’s normal? We’ve decided not to share the news with anyone in real life. We will announce the pregnancy when I am at the 3 month mark. Yeah, we’ll see if I can hold out that long 🙂

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “decision made

  1. So glad you made a decision (and, personally, love the conclusion you’ve come to!). I think you’re right that in the long run, you’ll be really glad you get to experience babyhood again (but with less new-mom anxiety) and that you’ll give Monkey a sibling. Yaaaaaaaay!

  2. eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    so, so excited to hear this decision!!! :~D

    how many frozen embryos do you have?

  3. Congrats! That is such exciting news. Hopefully all will go well and you will be preggo in no time.

  4. thekidletsandus

    I am so excited for you three, so great, woo-hoo to baby making.

  5. Next in line

    Wow! So exciting. I am just can’t wait.

  6. That’s really exciting! Best of luck! I’ll keep you guys in my thoughts 🙂

  7. Jac

    That’s awesome!! Congrats and good luck on a new journey!!!

Leave a Reply

