night weaning: night 7

This is night 7 in my series on night weaning. See also night 1, night 2, night 3, night 4, night 5, and night 6.

Before I get into how last night went, I just wanted to note that yesterday was a good day for Monkey. He was in good spirits, got dressed without much of a fight, and even took a 2.5 hour nap in his crib without the need for any intervention from us (his naps usually last 1.5 hours and he usually wakes at around the 45 minute mark needing one of us to walk him around to get him back to sleep). I think this boy needs his sleep!

Last night was not as good as night 6, but it was better than previous nights. Take a look:

  • 7:30PM: Bedtime. A note on bedtime: We generally put him to bed 6 hours past his nap waking time, which is why bedtime is somewhere between 6:30-7:30PM. Do you have a set bedtime or do you base it on nap waking time as well? Just curious 🙂
  • 10:30PM: Baby awake. We all go to bed and he goes to sleep easily in bed.
  • 3AM: Baby awake. He really wanted to nurse and cried pretty hard for about 5 minutes when I wouldn’t let him. He settled down and went to sleep at about 3:30AM.
  • 5AM: Baby awake after tossing and turning and generally keeping Mama up since 3:30AM (groan). I tried to get him back to sleep at 5AM, but it didn’t happen. He would listen and lay down when I would say, “It’s dark, time for night-night. Lay down and close your eyes.” He stayed in bed and was somewhat quiet, but didn’t go back to sleep.
  • 6AM: Up for the day.

Not great, but still on our way to improvement I think. Now a question: would you, my dear readers, like for me to continue these posts until we hit a streak of good nights, or is it enough already and you’d like me to just update when something changes (whether it’s good or bad)? I had planned to go for two weeks, but I don’t think it’s going to take that long (yay!). At some point here, I’ll start with the day weaning and I think I’ll do a daily post on that as well.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “night weaning: night 7

  1. We put Ryan to bed between 730 and 800 no matter what time he naps. He could nap and wake up at 4 or he could go the whole day without a nap, and bedtime stays firm. It works well for us/him. Regardless of whether he is showing signs of being tired or not, he will march into his room and hop in bed at bedtime (thank god!) 🙂

  2. We also have a set bedtime. No matter what you’re trying to get your kid to do (or not do), consistency is always key.

Leave a Reply

