night weaning: night 4

Night 4 in my night-weaning series. See also night 1, night 2, and night 3.

More of the same, unfortunately…

  • 6:30PM: Bed.
  • 8:30PM: Woke up, DW tried getting him back down several times and we just gave up and went to bed. We were pretty exhausted anyway. (No Downton Abbey for us last night!)
  • 11:30AM: Woke up and wanted to nurse.  I told him no, go-go is night-night and he cried pretty hard for about 5 minutes. He was really angry and ended up head-butting me in the face, so there were two of us crying. DW took him to the other room to walk him around and got him back in bed and asleep.
  • 1:15AM: Woke up. DW got up to walk him around and like 5 minutes later, the m%$#^$^g smoke alarm in our room went off AGAIN! Now, I said it happens occasionally, and it does, but usually maybe once every 6 months or something. So there is something really wrong with that thing. ARGH! So, DW ended up taking him to the other room. I was pretty groggy during this time, so not sure how many attempts were made to get him back to sleep, but at 3:15AM, she failed and I got up with him. At 3:45AM, I got him back to sleep.
  • 6:15AM: Up for the day. DW got up with him and I got another 1.15 hours sleep.

I’m so at the end of my rope here that I really truly wanted to nurse him after the alarm went off just to get some sleep. DW wouldn’t let me, so I didn’t, but I SO would have. I need some uninterrupted sleep and I need it now. Between the alarm and the cats and the head-butting and so on, I feel like I’m about to go nuts at night. Going to bed is like entering a torture chamber. I’m only exaggerating a little bit.

On the bright side, there was no nursing last night between 6:30PM and 7:30AM. I can hardly wait to see what night 5 brings.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “night weaning: night 4

  1. Sorry it’s been rough. It’s hard to deal with lack of sleep and I hear you on wanting to just nurse to get more sleep. I’ve been guilty of that.

    I know you’re co-sleeping and I did that too but eventually moved our son to his own room. Now I just end up sleeping up there if he wakes and I need to get him back to sleep at night. If you want to keep everyone together, maybe instead of walking around to get him back to sleep, have one of you move to another room to sleep more peacefully and the other stay in that bedroom on the bed. Let him cry. Just be there and he’ll know he’s not alone. But this way he’ll get used to just going back to sleep rather than swapping bfing with another thing you have to do to settle him. Just a thought. Also, a few long fits in the middle of the night with no attention/action on your part might make him give up and just go back to sleep. Our son would cry for over an hour even with this method when he was that age so I feel for you. But just trying to think of a way that you can get some more sleep and not have another issue pop up…

    • glamcookie

      Thanks for the advice. I’m also worried that the walk around thing will cause him to rely on it to fall back to sleep. DW thinks that eventually he’ll know he’s not getting nursed at night and start to sleep for longer periods of time whether we do the walk around or not. She says she’d prefer the walk around to being up for 2-3 hours. I guess we’ll see how it goes this week and if it’s not improving by Thursday, maybe just let him be until he falls asleep. The only issue is that he gets mad and will lash out (see head-butting my face in bullet 3 above). My nose still hurts 😦

      • Jackson used to lash out too when I first weaned him at night. He’d get mad and smack me several times. I’d just leave the room and then he’d cry and I’d come back in after a bit. I’d say, “No hitting. It hurts. If you hit me, I’ll leave the room.” I did so every time and eventually he calmed down. It’s just a freak out stage and if you leave and come back, I find they work out their frustration better without you there. I do this repeatedly until they get to a calmer state. I also do this when they’re not listening well at bedtime. Eventually they stop doing it. You’ll get to that good place soon, I’m sure. Do whatever works but I think he might replace nursing with the comfort of you walking him around. That’s all…I guess we’ll see. Fingers crossed that he gets it soon.

  2. This is the stuff of legends. You and dw are heroes. You have a double whammy with night time weaning and he has trouble going to sleep. Have strength. May you all get some sleep soon (and no head butting!).

  3. I think you are doing an amazing job as a TEAM and it is really showing. Keep it up ladies!!! 🙂

  4. Fingers crossed for tonight. I agree that it sounds like you are taking a great TEAM approach. Good luck!

  5. I am so impressed and so blown away. I probably would have given in by now, but its so amazing that you and DW are doing this together.

    He WILL get there. It WILL get easier. You will, eventually, get to sleep for at least a few 4-6 hour stretches. 🙂

  6. Hil

    I just found your post/ blog and great timing! I’m back at night weaning our 20 month old. I dropped the nursing to sleep first and he falls asleep on his own in his crib to start. Now working on the rest of the night, rather unsuccessfully, but getting better. Sorry about the head butt. Mine just hurled his Ernie at me…he has a good arm, but is asleep now!
    It’s great to read about a more organized technique, thanks!

Leave a Reply

