misc. update

It’s been so long since I’ve posted that I have lots of disjointed things to discuss. So here goes…

2 year checkup

Monkey had his 2 year appointment on the 5th. It was the first time he was able to be weighed and measured like a big boy (standing on the scale). He freaked out! I have no idea why, but we weren’t able to get accurate stats for weight and height. Sigh. He did much better in the exam room, allowing Dr. S to look in his eyes, ears, and mouth with no problem at all. Wouldn’t you think that would be freakier than standing on a scale? Oh, Monkey. Anyway, all checked out just fine and we were in and out in half an hour. There was one vaccination – Hepatitis A. There were tears for that one, but that’s to be expected. I can’t believe we now have a whole year before his next regular exam! Yay!

Talking

Monkey has really amped up in this area. He is now putting phrases and sentences together like crazy and he has tons of words. He’s continually surprising us with what he knows. It’s so cool! He remembers stuff and talks about that, too. Like we had a beautiful full moon last night. This morning he said, “[Monkey] see moon!” And he talks about our friends’ dog who likes to chase balls (“Doggy chase ball.”). Yesterday we had a late holiday thing with some friends and there many Christmas cookies out. Monkey was constantly at the counter reaching up and saying, “[Monkey] cookie now!” Hahahaha! Adorbs.

Birthday party

We are having Monkey’s second birthday party on Jan. 21st at a place near us that is all bounce houses. It’s kind of pricey, but it’ll be fun and also nice not to have to do much but just show up. They are providing food (pizza) and decorations, and we are bringing cupcakes and a fruit platter. A friend had his son’s birthday at a place like this last year and it was a blast for kids and adults. Here is the cute invitation we sent out. I really wanted to get these cupcake toppers, but it’s silly expensive once you factor in shipping and getting enough for 24 cupcakes. I need to get crafty and learn how to make these sort of things… We figure we’ll just get some generic birthday-themed toppers and cupcake holders in primary colors and be done with it.

Granny and Papa visit

My parents are coming out next week for a visit. My dad is staying for 4-5 days and my mom will be here for a week. I took the whole time off, so we should have some good times. We are contemplating Disneyland, but I’m not sure Monkey is quite ready yet. No matter what we do, it’ll be nice to have them around. I know they miss seeing Monkey. Maybe Mama and Mommy can even squeeze in some couple time. What a concept!

Teething/sleeping

The teething situation has improved greatly since my last post. We are back to our normal nighttime routine (nursing a lot, but not up in the night for hours). I think he’s still teething, though, as I’m still seeing blood on the toothbrush and I’m brushing very gently with a soft-bristled brush. It is very difficult to get his teeth brushed as he fights it like crazy. We have to hold him down and brush, which we all hate. I’m worried about cavities but I’m not sure what I can do that we aren’t already doing. When do you typically start taking a kid to the dentist? I’ve heard 3, which makes sense, but I’m kind of concerned about waiting that long when he doesn’t let us brush appropriately. Argh.

General 2-ness

Monkey has decided lately that he HATES having a shirt put on. It takes forever to get him dressed to go anywhere, and sometimes we end up having to hold him down while he screams and cries and force a shirt on him. We try to get his PJ top on, but if he fights us (and he usually does lately), we let him sleep in just his PJ pants. Just this morning I was able to get him by just heading for the front door and saying, “Let’s go outside!” He came over and allowed me to put his shirt on. It’d be nice if this were a new trend, but I’m not holding my breath. He also pitches a fit when it’s time to go home after having fun somewhere. I find that just letting him have the tantrum (lay down on the ground and cry and generally freak out) while I stand or kneel nearby quietly works best. The tantrum ends fairly quickly and then we are on our merry way. I’m a little scared of 3 – everyone tells us that 3 is the worst in terms of tantrums and toddler craziness.

TTC #2?

Still not sure where we are here. Weaning is not happening right now, but we’re planning to start trying with it soon. I wanted to wait until the teething situation improved and lately it has. At some point here we’re going to have to bite the bullet and just do it. It’s going to be H.A.R.D. Any of you have any success with this lately? I know there were a few of us talking about starting the process.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “misc. update

  1. Wow! Two! Hope he has a great time at his party… it sounds like the perfect event for a two year old! Good luck with all the hard bits of having a two year old… they’ll get better with time.

  2. Oh weaning… unfortunately that is happening here too. I am 35 weeks pregnant now and last week DH and I had a long talk about him being able to help after the baby is here. So he started doing bedtime, plus DS is no longer napping so we in effect are weaning since those are the only times he was nursing anyway. It was/ is kind of rough, the first night bedtime took 3 hours, the 2nd was 1.5 hours. Last night was 40 minutes. That is getting better, but he still asks me for milk when we lay down together and it’s so hard to tell him “oh baby I’m so sorry, mommy doesn’t have any more milk. We can still lay here and cuddle though.” he gets upset but he does lay with me and it seems to pass quicker and quicker every time. It sucks, but I think it has gone better than I thought it would and gets better every day. I wish you lots and lots of good luck and positive vibes!!

Leave a Reply

