monkey status

Thank you all for your support on my last (difficult) post. It means a lot to know I’m not alone – I think I can forgive myself now and move forward.

In terms of the sleep thing, we are doing much better lately, but I’m not holding my breath that it’ll last. Monkey slept until 6AM today, which feels like seriously sleeping in at our house 🙂 We’ve decided to start holding him to a schedule to get him to nap and go to bed a bit later so that maybe we can get out of the 4-5AM rut. No matter when he wakes, we are going to try putting him down to nap around noon and for bed around 7PM. Yesterday he was up at 4:30AM and was a complete mess by 11AM, so we went with it and put him down. He went to bed at 7PM and slept until 6AM, so hopefully we can get on track starting today. I’m also going to night-wean in early November. We have a ton going on in the next couple of weeks, so that’s why we’re waiting (plus it seems unfair to do 2 new things at once so first schedule then night-wean). Wish us luck and feel free to share your success stories.

Last night poor Monkey fell out of our bed – parenting fail! I usually put him down in his crib but if he wakes up within half an hour of when we’ll be going to bed, I just nurse him and leave him in our bed (I put pillows on either side of the bed to try to prevent a fall). Last night he cried out and we got up to head in and heard a loud BANG and wailing. Poor baby was on the floor! No physical damage done and he seems just fine, but I was so worried. Our bed is quite high and we have hard flooring (though there is a rug next to the bed where he fell). Guess I’ll have to be more diligent about getting him back into his crib on those early evening wakings. We’ve been talking about possibly upgrading to a king size bed (we have a queen currently) – maybe we should and have it be a platform bed so it’s close to the ground…

Any of you still having issues with cradle cap? Monkey has had it for all of his 21 months. I’ve tried the oil on scalp and light brushing (have used olive oil and baby oil) many many times, as well as the Mustela shampoo for cradle cap for many months, but nothing seems to work. Just curious if we’re the only ones still having the issue and if someone has a surefire way to end it.

Monkey is gaining ground on the speech thing lately. He is using Mama and Mommy on his own (LOVE!), and has added the following words to his vernacular:

  • Banca (Bianca, one of our cats)
  • Mehmeh (Momo, another of our cats)
  • key (kitty)
  • Melmo (Elmo)
  • Bih Ber (Big Bird)
  • nana (banana)
  • doll
  • eee-eye-eee-eye-oh
  • bye bye
  • baby
  • bubble

I’m sure there are others I’m not thinking of – he’s doing a lot more talking. It’s very cute.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “monkey status

  1. Claire

    Glad the sleep us going better – with breath held!
    We have a King Size bed – also too high. I vote for the low platform!
    Monkeys words are cute – ESP the differentiation between two mommies!

  2. I would LOOOOVE a king size bed!! But our room is probably too small for a king…unless the bed is the only thing in the room! haha

    Liam had cradle cap early on. Our ped gave us this special oil that we used and it seemed to help. It was also good for dry skin/itchy patches on the face as well. I would tell you what it is, but he’s napping in his room right now so I can’t get it. I will reply later with the name of it.

  3. I remember one of my co-workers saying something about “the first time your child falls off your bed…” and being horrified by the thought, now, with a very active 9 month old, I can totally see how it happens! (And often think that our bed is much too high.) Glad to hear Monkey is okay though.

  4. ugh…we need a lower, king sized bed too. and a bigger house to put it in! 😉

    good luck with the night weaning, im sure you will ALL be getting better sleep once that hurdle is jumped. for us, it took about three nights for her to get used to sleeping in her own bed & not nursing throughout the night. the first night was the worst, but it got better each night. we still nurse last thing before bed and first thing in the morning, so the sweet, cuddly time is still there :~)

  5. i keep trying to convince dragon we should get bed rails before he starts rolling over. she is convinced he’ll be in his crib soon. as the BF mom, i do not support that. he’s been getting up every 2-3 hours this week. co-sleeping is my savior.

Leave a Reply

