june non-challenge: college & friends

Day 15 – What was your college experience like? Were you involved in any clubs, groups, etc?

My college experience was loooooonnnnggg. I applied to schools in South Carolina and none in California as my plan was to go back “home.” Of course, by the time I was accepted into a couple of those schools, I considered CA my home. So I unhappily went to our local community college. After a year, I transferred to another CC down in San Diego. Then I transferred to SDSU, where I was completely miserable. So not my scene – blonde Barbies and frat boys. I dropped out and lived by the beach in SD for about a year. Then I moved back to LA and decided I didn’t want to be a receptionist for the rest of my life and got back into school. I finished in a couple of years at a local state school where I met my lovely wife.

I so hope Monkey gets the true college experience as I feel like it’s something I missed out on (dorms and the like).

Day 16 – How many friends do you have in real life that you talk to regularly? How many friends do you have that you feel are ‘true blue’ and how long have you known them?

Maybe it’s not that healthy, but I don’t really have any super close friends outside of DW. We are best friends and have been for 15 years. I wouldn’t want to travel or go out with people without her there. It just wouldn’t be as fun to me. We have several couples that we are friends with, one that we are pretty close with. I moved a lot when I was a kid, so I don’t really have long-term friends. Is that weird?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “june non-challenge: college & friends

  1. I’m with you on the friends thing too. So I guess I’m weird too! I have lots of acquaintances and friends that we see once in a while and some work friends, but when the chips are down I call Susan ( if she’s not there) or my sister. I think my girl friends have always been my best friends at the time we were dating.
    Sorry the school thing didn’t work out so well:(

  2. Jen

    I’m with you as well. Tiff is definitely my best friend and we do have lots of friends, but not people I talk to regularly or depend on.

Leave a Reply

