30 day challenge: day 12

What you believe

This is an interesting challenge. I was raised Catholic, attended Catholic school for many years, and was baptised, received Holy Communion, and was confirmed in the church. As an adult, I am agnostic, leaning heavily toward atheism. I believe in doing the right thing because it’s the right thing to do, not because I might be punished in some sort of afterlife should I do wrong. I believe in science, logic, and the power of the intelligent mind. That said, I also believe in respecting others’ beliefs, whatever they may be. I work with an orthodox Jew who is one of the most moral, honest, trustworthy people I’ve ever known. He is also respectful of differences and just an all-around good person. He truly does his religion proud.

For myself, though, I have a hard time believing in a supreme being in general, much less one that would allow the type of suffering that goes on in the world. I don’t know how religious people reconcile the chaos of the universe with their belief system, but if it helps them get through the day, more power to them. As long as they aren’t hurting anyone, I have no issue.

But there’s the rub, right? There have been and continue to be terrible things done in the name of religion. I don’t understand religious wars or the persecution of others in the name of religion. How that fits in with any belief system is beyond me.

4 Comments

Filed under meme

4 responses to “30 day challenge: day 12

  1. I agree – organized religion has done so much more harm than good….

  2. DITTO for me on everything after the first two sentences and changing the Orthodox Jew you work with to a Muslim πŸ™‚

  3. Jen

    I completely agree as well. I struggle with religion for these very reasons and when it comes down to it, most wars are in the name of religion. Oy.

  4. i agree too. we’ve been talking about these issues a lot lately in terms of what to teach our kids. i was raised in a fairly agnostic home and R was raised catholic, so we have lots to work out! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

