update on me

Thanks so much for all of the support on my last entry. You women rock. I am feeling much better today. I talked to my wife on Friday about how I’m feeling and together we decided I should call my OB and take action on the issue. I’ve had some pretty extreme anxiety and anger (anxiety is normal for me, but anger is so not) since giving birth that I was kind of ignoring/managing on my own and now that work has really heated up, everything is amplified and I can no longer manage it internally. I was so happy to feel like I didn’t need to be on my meds anymore that I was really trying to handle everything to avoid feeling like a failure (I know, I know – not a failure, but sometimes my brain is stupid). Anyway, I’m seeing my OB on Friday to discuss a plan of action. Just setting it in motion has made me feel like some of the pressure is off.

In baby news, S is continuing to be a sweet, active little guy. He also continues to wake several times in the night and is up for the day anywhere between 4AM-5:45AM. We tried sleep training again, but we couldn’t do it. He screamed and cried and it was a scared, terrified cry, not an angry one. We both felt like it was damaging, so we stopped it. We are trying to get him down to one nursing in the night, and that can take a while so here’s hoping it works. If you have had success with any gentle sleep training, please share your story.

7 Comments

Filed under antidepressants, sleep

7 responses to “update on me

  1. Jen

    >Do you guys have a nighttime routine? We have probably talked before about all of this, but I can't remember. If he goes to bed early (6:30-7ish) can you do a dreamfeed when you go to bed, and then maybe you will get some more sleep? I did a dreamfeed around 10pm for a little while with chunk to make sure he slept through the night and now he is pretty good without it. Some nights he still wakes up in the middle of the night, so I give him back his pacifer and he goes right back to sleep. Do you use a white noise machine or music? We have one on every night and it works wonders!

  2. >Hey, Jen. Yes, we have a nighttime routine: Eat dinner, bath/lotion rub down (not every night), get into jammies, read books, nurse, bed. He goes to bed anywhere from 5:30-6:30, depending on his naps. He usually wakes up when we go to bed around 9:30-10 and I nurse him then. We use white noise and a fan (still warm here). Haven't noticed much difference since using it (been about 3 months or so).

  3. >So glad you are taking care of yourself. No shame there.

  4. H2

    >*hugs* Let us know how it goes. 🙂

  5. >I'm glad you're getting help! I hope the sleeping gets better And you get some relief from the blues and the blow ups. (( hugs))) good for you:)

  6. >Shaney is adorable. It sounds like you are getting enough sleep to get by, but getting up in the night is tough! I hope you get some of those long stretches 🙂

  7. >I'm so sorry sleep continues to be such a huge problem–for everyone.It's horrible to feel like you've tried everything and nothing is working–I know. I really hope SOMEthing works for you.When we were dealing with this and I was in my darkest place I felt alot like what you are describing in your previous post. Once the babies started sleeping and I was able to get some good sleep, ALL of it went away; the depression, the anger–everything.Sleep derivation is a VERY serious thing and mimics depression in a severe way. I would hate for you to be taking drugs, when what you need is sleep. The problem is that you won't know until you get some sleep!I really feel for you and wish you good luck.No one understands who hasn't gone through this.

Leave a Reply

