sleep? we don’t need no stinking sleep…

Yes, baby is still fighting sleep like a champ. I definitely think it’s related to his hitting new milestones like crazy lately (sitting up unassisted, crawling, pulling up to standing, cruising, finger foods). We tried using the Sleep Lady technique again at bedtime, but baby cried for an hour and during that hour, he would sit up or stand up at the side of the crib. I tried laying him down each time (over and over and over again) and saying, “Night night.” No dice. After an hour, DW came in and put him to sleep by swaying with him and then patting his butt in the crib. He woke up 2 times before we went to bed (between 6:30PM-10PM), and again when we went to bed. I nursed him at 10PM and he went to sleep until 2AM. Nursed him at 2AM and he was up for the day at 4AM. We tried swaying, butt patting, nursing, etc. at 4AM, but when 5AM rolled around and he still was nowhere near sleepy, I got up with him (annoyed and grumpy as hell). I was ready to try Ferber tonight (CIO with checks), but DW wants to give him another chance since he went 10PM-4AM with 1 wakeup, which is pretty good for him. So I guess we’re in for another sleepless night (I don’t have the same high hopes as DW, but it can’t hurt to try one more night I guess). Argh!

3 Comments

Filed under 8 months, milestones, sleep

3 responses to “sleep? we don’t need no stinking sleep…

  1. H2

    >It's hard I know. And you feel so angry about it half the time, and guilty about it the other half. We did something like cosleeping for the first couple months and then CIO after that. (Didn't know it was CIO at the time) Lol, it was "I can't take it anymore, I'm buying ear plugs and going to bed!" Good luck tonight!

  2. >Oh gosh this is so hard. We went through a real crazy spell with Ziya and then she got so much better. I still wonder if what I am doing is right or not. Starting a day at 4am is brutal. I hope the sleep lady business works.

  3. >Ugh, starting the day at 4am on not much sleep sucks. I hope this is just a phase he's going through and that it will be over really soon.

Leave a Reply

