in hell

Well, we are right back at the beginning with this sleep training nonsense. Last night, baby woke up every hour and a half starting at 7:30PM (1.5 hours after going to sleep). Around 12:30, I gave up and brought him into bed. I got no sleep at all and he was up for the day at 4:30AM. Nap times today were terrible – he only slept half an hour at each one. Bedtime tonight he cried for almost an hour (we went in and checked on him about 3 times during that hour) and I finally gave up and patted his butt until he went to sleep. I don’t even know what to do at this point.

5 Comments

Filed under 8 months, sleep

5 responses to “in hell

  1. >I think Shane is about 3 weeks older than Leander, which makes him 37 weeks old. Week 37 is one of the 8 "wonder weeks" during which the babies make huuuuge developmental gains (and therefore struggle with sleep and need lots of extra closeness and support). So take heart, it'll only last a week or so! (And google that shit – totally helped me at week 26!)

  2. >Ugh, I am right there with you. We totally traded one sleep crutch (nighttime nursing) for another (butt patting). Only now I have to get up and walk to her crib to pat, rather than just roll over. It will get better…right???

  3. Jen

    >Is he teething or possibly hitting a growth spurt? Sorry you are struggling. We definately have good nights and bad nights. Hang in there–this too shall pass.

  4. >I'm so sorry it's not going well.I don't know if you are open for a total CIO, but it's what worked for us and our boys are excellent sleepers now. I can count the number of times on one hand that they've woken up in the middle of the night 'fussing'. If they wake up now, it's because they are hungry and that is OK.I hope you find something that works for you.I know bringing him to bed seems like a good idea at the time–I've been tempted in the past–but as you know, you don't get any sleep and he doesn't learn how to self soothe. You need to let him know you mean business. The first couple of days/week is rough, but they learn really fast. Best thing we ever did.I look forward to nights now where I used to dread them.That's my assvice.

  5. >How about trying a Z.aky hand? It's a creepy looking thing, but has been known to work magic on those babies that want to feel a warm touch in order to go to sleep.

Leave a Reply

