6 months

It’s just crazy to me that S is already 6 months old. It seems like just yesterday we were bringing him home from the hospital. We love our little guy like I can’t tell you. Every day brings new discoveries (hello, tongue! hello, voice!). He is sitting up really well at this point, though he can’t get into the sitting position on his own yet. We started rice cereal last Thursday, and tried banana on Sunday. He was not feeling it. I think we’re going for it again tomorrow. Next up: avocado! Guacamole for Mamas and avo for S! Yay!

We are starting to get desperate with the sleeping situation. It is just so bad. Even having him in the bed doesn’t really solve it as he wants to nurse constantly and I get very little sleep. We were at the pediatrician’s office yesterday because S has a little rash (was nothing serious), and he told us to “let him cry – no intervention.” No way I can do that. We let him cry last night for 10 minutes and he really started to get himself worked up (coughing, etc.) and I totally caved. I can’t handle hearing him get upset like that. However, we also can’t go much longer on no sleep. DW was in tears yesterday morning and she is like a rock usually. Where it’ll end, I don’t know. Sorry to bore you all with our sleep woes, but it’s where we are right now.

We go back to the ped on Friday for S’s 6 month appointment. Poor bug will not be happy with more shots. I’m so curious to see what he weighs. He seems so huge!

4 Comments

Filed under 6 months, eating, milestones, sleep

4 responses to “6 months

  1. >That no sleeping thing sounds brutal! I wish I had some advice- none here. Could you guys at least alternate nights? Yikes, I hope this gets better soon.

  2. K

    >Our pediatrician recommended CIO too – I don't get it! We did the No Cry Sleep Solution (Elizabeth Pantley) instead and it worked wonders for us. We have setbacks, of course, but it's easy enough to get back on track once the issue (teething, growth spurt, etc.) passes. I feel like we were able to improve ALL of our sleep without sacrificing any of the nurturing or trust we've worked so diligently to build with our son.Congrats on hitting the six month mark! I felt like that was a real turning point where the balance started to shift from More Work to More Fun. 🙂

  3. >Sorry that the sleep situation is so awful right now. It WILL pass, but getting through sounds like it's going to be rough. I hope you can find a strategy that works for you soon!Six months! That's great. It DOES seem like just yesterday to me, too.

  4. >happy six months shane!!we are having sleep woes too. im at the end of my rope these days…i dont know what to do to get her to sleep in her own bed/sleep through the night. im exhausted! if you figure it out, let us know!

Leave a Reply

