life with s…

is beginning to gel into a bit of a routine. We have pretty much gotten the hang of the breastfeeding thing. We are still on a 3 hour schedule, but I’ve stopped setting an alarm and diligently timing the sessions, which is much less stressful for me. I still need to figure out how to nurse in public (so we can get out of the house more) and how the give a bottle/avoid engorgement thing works, but so far, pretty good. I mainly want to know how to hide the fact that I’m nursing and how to nurse without my nursing pillow (My Brest Friend, which kicks the Boppy’s butt!).

Yesterday we made it out to Toys R Us after his pediatrician appointment (where we learned he is now 9 lbs, 6 oz!) and we went out to eat at the mall down the street. Afterward, the baby was still sleeping so we also went strolling and did a little shopping. A couple of successful small outings! We were starting to get a bit stir crazy being home 24/7 and for me, doing almost nothing but feeding baby.

Other things… I don’t think i mentioned that I’m back in my pre-pregnancy clothes and have been for about a week. I’m shocked at how quickly I got my body back (2 weeks post-birth). I thought being an old Mama would kick me in the butt with the weight, but I feel great and like my body just bounced right back. No stretch marks either. I got lucky on that front for sure.

5 Comments

Filed under breastfeeding, parenting, pediatrician

5 responses to “life with s…

  1. Jen

    >Is it mean to say you suck for being in your old clothes! 🙂 I have quite a belly pouch and regular pants are too tight/painful! Congrats on the outings- we are still mastering that as well and nursing in public makes me nervous that I will show some boob! We go to the ped next week and I am excited to see how much chunk weighs…

  2. >I have two expensive but awesome nursing tanks made by Boob Designs. They have a slot just below your boobs meaning that your tummy and chest stay covered. I love them and still wear mine two years later. It's hard to nurse unsupported when they are so tiny and don't hold on well but it does get easier. I'm happy to hear you guys got out some. Oh, another trick I used was to take my nursing pillow in the car because I always felt relaxed there. Keep the picturescoming! He's so cute!

  3. >Give yourself another week or two and you will be a pro at all of this. Yes to throwing away the timer! You have got a big growing baby. Now you two can find your own schedule for feeding. I nurse in public and refuse to wear the tent. Way too complicated and I have enough stuff to carry with me. I love the nursing tanks by glamourmom. http://www.glamourmom.com/ For me the tank and a zip up hoody are all that I need to feel comfortable. It just gets easier to hold them while nursing without the pillow and I can't explain why. Maybe because I don't have to worry about latching. She kindof takes care of that now. I also love the my breast friend. I leave the house everyday to avoid going crazy. Even if it is just a walk.

  4. >Sounds like you're getting in the swing! And does that mean you're back in your favorite jeans? Wow! Cool!

  5. >Sounds like you and Shane are in the groove! Isn't getting out and running errands essential? I waited far too long to start doing that. Now Owen and I are out nearly every day (for my sanity!)Congrats, mama, on getting that pre-pregnancy body back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

