>the dreaded wait

>First, thank you all for your support and kindness in re: my last post. I’m going through waves of “it’ll all be fine” and “you’ll be the 1 in that 1:8” craziness. Trying desperately to put it out of my head as I won’t know for a little while. We’re trying to decide whether we want to do the FSH (or is it FISH?) thing where they have some preliminary results (including Downs result) after 48 hours or just wait the 2 weeks for the whole panel to be done. We are going on vacation from 7/20-7/27, the amnio is 7/15, and so the FSH results would arrive the Friday before we leave. If the results are bad, vacation ruined. If they are good, vacation is better than it will be without knowing. I hate that this all fell at the same time. Argh.

Predictably, I’m not sleeping well and that combined with stress and hormones is making me kind of a nutcase. I was almost in tears at work yesterday over nothing. Fortunately I recovered myself before anyone knew (I do not want to be seen as the emotional pregnant lady in the workplace). I really need that week off. And because things aren’t quite crazy enough, our remodel starts today. I guess I’m going to get a hotel room for next Thur-Fri as my OB told me to be on modified bed rest for 48 hours following the amnio and that isn’t going to be possible with the state my house is in right now. Plus they are scraping the ceilings Thur-Fri of next week. How much nuttier can it get, people?

I would also not advise doing the first trimester screening if:

  • It won’t matter to you what the results are (i.e. you’ll not terminate no matter the results)
  • You are planning on doing an amnio regardless

We had always planned on an amnio because of my age, so we could have avoided all this stress and just gotten definitive results with the amnio. After reading about all the false positives, this test just seems like a bad idea and I’m really bummed out that we did it at all. The only people that this test might be for are those who are unsure whether they want to do an amnio or not and want to use the results as a guide. Just my 2 cents.

It’s strange to feel past the worry of miscarriage (I know I’m pregnant what with the growing belly and gagging all the time) and on to the worry over prenatal screening. I guess it’s a graduation of sorts?

6 Comments

Filed under amnio, first trimester screening, waiting

6 responses to “>the dreaded wait

  1. Jen

    >I had to comment last week and for some reason my work computer would not allow me to. So, this is a joint post comment. I have heard that the false positives of the tests are crazy so we have opted not to do it, simply bc of your number 1. But I am also 29 with no family history, so different factors do come into play for people. Hang in there–it will be okay. And, speaking as someone who did a major house project two weeks ago and felt our life upside down, that will pass as well. Look forward to your vacation and the fact that you are indeed preggers. (it still doesn't seem possible for me at times!)

  2. >aw, hon, i am so sorry to hear you are having such a rough time right now. the pregnancy crazies are bad enough without this extra worry and the stress of physical upheaval in your home. its no wonder you arent sleeping right now! i hope this period of waiting passes quickly, you are able to get some reassuring answers soon, and you are able to enjoy the rest of your pregnancy. sending big (hugs) your way.

  3. >Sorry you are in the wait again. That absolutely sucks to be in that spot.Doctors make a big deal about "You have an eighty percent chance of… It's only one in ten…blah, blah, blah. Well after infertility, you're used to the numbers coming up bad. Since I've been beating the odds so well, maybe I should hit Vegas!Hugs, and I hope you get a good outcome.

  4. >I don't think I commented on the results of that first bloody test – I was on vacation and skimming a lot – but I did read it and feel mad and sad for you. I know nothing about these tests so am no-one to ask, but I take it from the wisdom that is here that it is here and from your comments that is a bad idea to do the test and that you now have to wait even longer to find out the "real"results.I can't tell you what I would do because I am clueless, although I think full info is usually better than a bit of info and i err on the side of knowing before vacation because I can't stand uncertainty like that.Either way I am rooting for you and sending you lots of good vibes. Sorry it's been such an emotional time – and when isn't it emotional? (SIGH!!!)

  5. >I think you should wait on the results until after your vacation. No need to be worked up twice over the same results. I didn't get a chance to respond to the previous post but wanted to say that my cousin had similar results and her baby did not have downs. There seems to be a huge error rate with the first trimester screening. Our family was rocked by the results only for there to be a happy ending. That said… I don't think these feelings will EVER go away. It's kinda scary. We'll worry about the babe until it's out but then there will be so many more things to worry about! Fevers, flus, first day of school, first overnight at a friends house… HIGH SCHOOL… COLLEGE…. ack… the things that could happen with independence are endless! lolOne step at a time.. one step at a time!

  6. KM

    >We looked at that test as an excuse to get a really good look at our baby after not having an ultrasound for a couple of weeks. We went in pretty much expecting to ignore the results. I am sorry you have this wait and all the stress. Take good care of yourself through this really trying time even though you may not feel like it, it will help and give you something positive to focus on. Thinking of you guys! (((hugs)))

Leave a Reply

