>status

>My coordinator has started updating my calendar for our next IVF round. So far, I know that I take my last BCP tonight, have a baseline u/s on Monday, and have my first injection of Delestrogen on Tuesday. I’ll do the Delestrogen injections twice weekly (three times the week of the FET) for 5 weeks. She is ordering my meds today. She never fills my calendar in all at once, instead she goes in stages. Probably not to overwhelm patients with the sheer numbers of medications. Still, I wish she’d just fill it in. I feel like others know exactly what protocol they are on and what it involves and I didn’t for IVF #1 and now don’t for IVF #2. I’ll get a big box of meds tomorrow or Saturday and check my calendar daily for updates. It’s a little maddening.

I am happy to be getting back at it. This time around, I’m not sharing information as freely as I did last time. My co-workers keep asking me when we’re doing round 2 and I just say, “We’re watching my levels and will see when it’s time.” I’m hoping they just don’t ask again until I’m 3 months along and can announce the pregnancy (assuming, of course, that a pregnancy results and lasts 3 months).

My family has been alternately sweet and annoying. One of my aunts sent a really sweet semi-condolence card. I say “semi” because the card was more of an “I miss you” card, but she had a very nice note regarding the miscarriage. It meant a lot to me as she is an ultra-conservative Republican and I really didn’t know how she and my uncle would react to this baby news. It’s nice to know they can set their politics aside for a family member they care about. My mom, on the other hand, who has been very supportive and positive about our trying to get PG, is not handling the miscarriage well. It’s like she doesn’t want to talk about it at all and she even seems to be downplaying our upcoming try. I think it’s that she doesn’t want me to get upset about the recent loss or for me to be upset if we have another loss, but it’s coming off as a bit unfeeling after what we just went through. My parents have never dealt with uncomfortable, tragic, or sad events well so I guess this is just more of the same. I don’t really need their support in this area anyway as I have my sweetie for that.

As for me, I’m feeling very positive and optimistic about our next try. I’m even looking forward to those pesky injections as they mean we are (hopefully) moving ever closer to our child/ren. We’ve started up with baby names again and talking about what life will be like once a baby is here. Here’s hoping for the power of positive thinking!

4 Comments

Filed under co-worker stress, family, FET

4 responses to “>status

  1. >I love your positivity! I swear that positive thinking changes things, and I know that it will bring you a BFP. Hugs.

  2. s

    >my mom had a hard time with my miscarriage too – she kept saying how she KNEW we'd have a baby soon, when all i wanted to do was grieve the one we lost. it's so hard dealing with everyone's reactions…yay for your last bcp, i hate those little boogers! so, your ivf calendar is on-line? that's so high-tech & fancy!

  3. >Yep, IVF calendar is online. I guess I hadn’t thought about how convenient that part is – probably because I work for a tech co. and have come to expect all things to be techy 🙂

  4. >Yay for trying again & staying positive! Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

