>co-worker

>So, I’m handling the miscarriage really well. I’m focused on the next round, recovering physically from my procedures, and my cold is even improving. Still, I find myself getting really annoyed with a certain co-worker. She knows I’ve been trying to get pregnant for a year. She knows I recently miscarried. Still she persists in dumping all her work and personal life frustrations on me. This isn’t a new phenomenon. I have always been her venting person (and I’ve always disliked it). I just can’t get myself worked up over her issues, you know?

Well now I find that I’m actively disliking her. I’m trying to keep my stress levels down and I really don’t need to take on someone elses, you know? I feel like going, “You’re in school and it’s hard. You’re working and it’s hard. Try losing a pregnancy you’ve spent a fortune on and invested a lot of emotion into and see how it compares. IT DOES NOT. Your problems are piddly. Now leave me alone.” Not very nice, but it’s how I’m feeling. I need to find a way to nicely ask her to keep it to herself. Also trying to figure out if she’s really this clueless or I’m just being overly sensitive. Man alive.

4 Comments

Filed under co-worker stress

4 responses to “>co-worker

  1. >what a clod! sometimes honesty is best – next time she starts complaining, just interrupt her and tell her you've got a lot on your mind with your own recent problems & can't listen to hers for a while. eesh. people are really clueless. i went the more passive route – i just shut my office door for about two weeks. i knew people were whispering, but i didnt care, i just wanted to be left ALONE!

  2. >I agree with an offering of love. I don’t think you are being unreasonable at all. How about suggesting she see a therapist: “you know, a lot of people going through this much stress really benefit from talking to a professional” something like that as well as telling her you have enough to deal with right now.take care:)Don’t let the ba$T@rd$ get you down!

  3. >Ah, the oblivious co-worker…what a gem. I don’t think you’re being unreasonable, and I think it is completely justified if you mention to her that “I’m sorry you’re having such a hard time, but I’ve got a lot going on lately, and need some space.”You’re doing great in your recovery!

  4. >totally ok to be a bit blunt and remind her since she’s clearly clueless) that you are going through a big loss right now and are sorry that you can’t really be there for her right now. hang in there.Mo

Leave a Reply

